Archive or delete a project | Civio Engage Victoria Knowledge Base     [Skip to content](#main)  [ ![Civio Engage Victoria Knowledge Base](/civio-light.svg) ](https://nginx.deploy-lagoon-production.engage-vic-docs.dh1.amazee.io)  [Product documentation](/articles)   Toggle navigation      

  [Product documentation](/articles)  

  1. [Home](/) ›
2. [Product documentation](/articles) ›
3. [Creating and managing projects](/articles?category=4) ›
4. Archive or delete a project

 Archive or delete a project
===========================

Updated 6 months ago · 3 min read

 Search     Search  

*Archived* projects are any projects with an *unpublished workflow state*. All project data, analytics, revisions and submissions are saved when projects are archived.

This state may be used for a number of reasons:

- Project has finished and no longer requires online visibility
- Project has been delayed

Projects set to *unpublished* can be republished at any stage.

To update the publish status of an existing project:
----------------------------------------------------

1. Navigate to the **Dashboard**.
2. In the top-level menu bar, click **Projects**. This will show you a list of all the projects you have access to.
3. Click a project. This will take you to the project page.
4. Click the **Edit** tab.
5. In the upper right corner you can view and update the publish status through clicking the dropdown.
6. Click **Confirm** in the pop-up window to confirm the status update.

![image - 2024-03-11T124339.809.png](/storage/articles/9493395884175.png)

Archive a project
-----------------

To archive an existing project:

1. Navigate to the **Dashboard**.
2. In the top-level menu bar, click **Projects**. This will show you a list of all the projects you have access to.
3. Scroll to the relevant project. On the right-hand side, click the **ellipsis menu icon**.
4. Click **Edit** to be taken directly to the project's editing tab.
5. You can also navigate to the project overview page, then the editing tab. From the **Projects** page, click a project to be taken to the project overview. Then click on the **Edit** tab.
6. At the top right, beside the **Save** button, you can change your project's published state. Select **Unpublish** to archive your whole project. This can be undone at any time.

![image - 2024-03-11T124317.616.png](/storage/articles/9493399465871.png)

Reactivate an archived project
------------------------------

To reactivate an archived project:

1. Navigate to the **Dashboard**.
2. In the top-level menu bar, click **Projects**.
3. Click the **Unpublished** tab. This will show a list of all unpublished projects you have access to.
4. Scroll to the relevant project. On the right-hand side, click the **ellipsis menu icon**.
5. Click **Edit** to be taken directly to the project's editing tab.
6. You can also navigate to the project overview page, then the editing tab. From the **Projects** page, click a project to be taken to the project overview. Then click on the **Edit** tab.
7. At the top right, beside the **Save** button, you can change your project's published state. Select **Publish** to republish your whole project. This can be undone at any time. *Note: individual content items that have been unpublished from your project will still be unpublished and invisible on the public-facing website.*

![image - 2024-03-11T124252.455.png](/storage/articles/9493395884943.png)

Delete a project
----------------

*Note: You need to have delete permissions in order to delete a project. Deleting an entire project will remove all its content and data permanently from Civio Engage. This cannot be undone!*

To delete a project:

1. Navigate to the **Dashboard**.
2. In the top-level menu bar, click **Projects**. This will show you a list of all the projects you have access to.
3. Scroll to the relevant project. On the right-hand side, click the **ellipsis menu icon**.
4. Click **Delete** to delete your project. You'll be prompted with a warning.
5. You can also navigate to the project overview page, then the editing tab. From the **Projects** page, click a project to be taken to the project overview. Click **Delete** to delete your project. You'll be prompted with a warning.

![image - 2024-03-11T124229.187.png](/storage/articles/9493395885455.png)

Was this article helpful?
-------------------------

Your feedback helps us prioritise what to rewrite.

      Yes     No  

 [    Back to Creating and managing projects ](/articles?category=4) 

 On this page 

**Need additional help?** Submit support requests at the [Engage Victoria contact form](https://digital-vic.atlassian.net/servicedesk/customer/portal/35/group/97/create/354).

 © 2026 [Civio](https://civ.io)
